Students Qualify for National Speech Competitions

Congratulations to three of the Yakking Raiders' finest who competed in the national qualifying speech tournament, qualifying (by placing first or second) to go nose-to-nose against some of the nation's best speakers at the National Speech and Debate Association national championship tournament this June in Dallas, TX.

Surya Buddharaju, '19, placed first in Program of Oral Interpretation, as well as fourth in Humorous Interpretation
Brianna Liu, '20, placed first in Informative Speaking
Janie Xu, '20, placed second in International Extemporaneous Speaking

Additionally, the following students have earned multiple bids for competition points for the National Individual Event Tournament of Champions (NIETOC) competition on May 10-12 hosted this year by Millard North High School.

Aakash Mehta, '20 - Informative Speaking

Amanda Zhang, '19, and Laura Liu, '19 - Duo Interpretation

Aruna Bashir, '20 - Original Oratory

Brianna Liu, '20 - Informative Speaking and Original Oratory

Crystal Huang, '21 - Informative Speaking

Grayson Towne-Colley, '20 - Original Oratory

Jack Cenovic, '22 - Informative

Laura Liu, '19 - Dramatic Interpretation

Surya Buddharaju, '19 - Program of Oral Interpretation and Humorous Interpretation

And wait! That's not all. The team also won the Nebraska State Activities Association Class C-2 District Speech Tournament hosted by perennial arch rival David City on March 11. The qualifiers for the upcoming State Tournament are:

Surya Buddharaju, '19 - Humorous Interpretation and Interpretation of Poetry

Amanda Zhang, '19 - Interpretation of Poetry

Janie Xu, '20 - Extemporaneous Speaking

Laura Liu, '19 - Dramatic Interpretation

Ashton Reimer, '19 - Extemporaneous Speaking

Brianna Liu, '20 - Persuasive Speaking and Informative Speaking

Aakash Mehta, '20 - Informative Speaking

These students represent Brownell Talbot and the Yakking Raiders with enormous class and sportsmanship, and the entire team couldn't be more proud of their accomplishments. Good luck at Nationals Surya, Brianna, and Janie!